Academic Advising

Check out our list of advisors, see their drop-in hours and what they can help you with.

students walking

College of Science Office of Student Services

For academic advising related to your major, please contact the advisor from the table below. Please note that advising locations are specific to the major/department.

Student Services Office; Gould-Simpson 1017; 520-621-8128; science@email.arizona.edu

We assist students on a drop-in basis with:

  • Help with general and medical petitions
  • Requesting a schedule change after the posted deadlines
  • Extension of Incomplete grade
  • Questions regarding academic probation, academic recovery, academic disqualification or dismissal
  • Requests for SCI 195a enrollment, U-TURN program, Making the Grade workshop
  • Peer Advising program in the College of Science
  • Questions about Leave of Absence/ Back 2 UA
  • Questions about Second Start and/or Academic Renewal
  • Help with general questions regarding deadlines, policies, procedures, or other questions/issues not handled in your major department

Drop-in Hours and Advisors

Monday thru Friday 9am to 12pm & 1pm to 4:30pm (closed at 5pm)

*Please note that drop –in advisors are in their department offices during priority registration dates*

  • Monday: Rachel Ridlen (Neuroscience & Cognitive Science)
  • Tuesday: Megan Cunnington (Biology, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, and Bioinformatics)
  • Wednesday: David Smith (Physics and Astronomy)
  • Thursday: Debra Armand-Cade (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • Friday: Andrea Palacio (Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences)

Priority Registration

College of Science advisors are ready to work with you as we move towards priority registration. All appointments and interactions will be held virtually through email, phone, and Zoom. Be sure to check your advisor's Trellis for details on availability. If you are unsure of when your priority registration starts you can check the registration calendar on the Office of the Registrar website.

Schedule an appointment

Contact us

Robin Rarick, Senior Director, Academic Advising

(520) 621-8128; rrarick@email.arizona.edu

Tharini Wijeweera, Assistant Director, Academic Advising

(520) 621-8128; raini@email.arizona.edu

Advisor Directory

Major Advisor Phone Office Email
Astronomy        
  Don McCarthy (Faculty Advisor)

621-4079

Steward Observatory, Room N404

dmccarthy@as.arizona.edu
  David Smith (Professional Advisor) 626-1231 Phys/Atmo Sci, Room 264 dlsmith1@email.arizona.edu
Bioinformatics AND Biology 
AND 
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
       
Last names A-L Megan Cunnington 626-8456 Life Sci. South, Room 233 mac990@email.arizona.edu
Last names M-Z David McGuiggan 621-5329 Life Sci. South, Room 233 dmcguigg@email.arizona.edu
Chemistry & Biochemistry        
  Debra Armand-Cade 626-0605 Chemistry, Room 210 darmandcade@email.arizona.edu
  Christine Gronowski 626-7908 Chemistry, Room 210 christineg@email.arizona.edu
Computer Science        
Last names A-G Rene Garciaguirre 621-2594 Gould-Simpson, Room 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
Last names H-O Alonso Minjarez 621-4632 Gould-Simpson, Room 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
Last names P-Z Alex Hernandez 621-0483 Gould-Simpson, Room 917  
Geoscience        
  Shawna Matteson 621-4845 Gould-Simpson, Room 214 smatteson@email.arizona.edu
  Anne Chase 621-6004 Gould-Simpson, Room 210 achase@email.arizona.edu
Hydrology & Atmospheric Science        
Hydrology sub-plan Martha Whitaker 621-9715 J.W. Harshbarger, Room 226A marthaw@email.arizona.edu
Atmospheric Science sub-plan Brittany Ciancerelli 621-6619 J.W. Harshbarger, Room 224E bciance@email.arizona.edu
Mathematics/Statistics & Data Science        
Majors only Laurie Varecka 626-9837 Mathematics, Room 217 mcenter@email.arizona.edu
Minors only Michelle Ort 621-5106 Mathematics, Room 221 mathcenter@math.arizona.edu
Molecular & Cellular Biology        
  Kara Dyson 621-1073 Life Sci. South, Room 248 kdyson@email.arizona.edu
  Justin Schneider 621-4342 Life Sci. South, Room 248 jmschnei@email.arizona.edu
Neuroscience & Cognitive Science        
Last names A-K Alex Samoy-Alvarado 621-3337 Gould-Simpson, Room 626 asamoy2@email.arizona.edu
Last names L-Z Rachel Ridlen 621-0384 Gould-Simpson, Room 628 rachelyoung@email.arizona.edu
No Major Selected or Undecided in Science Tharini Wijeweera 621-8128 Gould-Simpson, Room 1017 raini@email.arizona.edu
Physics David Smith 626-1231 Phys/Atmo ScI, Room 264 dlsmith1@email.arizona.edu
Psychology AND Psychological Science        
AZ ONLINE ONLY Jamie Ellsworth     jellsworth@email.arizona.edu
Last names A-F Randy Yazzie 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 yazzier@email.arizona.edu
Last names G-M
& all Honors
Keri Bishop 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 kerib@email.arizona.edu
last names N-Z Shelley Bernstein 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 shelleyb@email.arizona.edu
Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences Andrea Palacio 621-6680 Speech Building, Room 224 apalacio@email.arizona.edu