Academic Advising

Check out our list of advisors, see their drop-in hours and what they can help you with.

students walking

College of Science Office of Student Services

Student Services Office; Gould-Simpson 1017
520-621-8128
science@email.arizona.edu

Our advisors can assist with the following topics:

  • General Petitions 
  • Late Change Petitions and Change of Schedule Requests
  • Academic Renewal 
  • Questions regarding academic eligibility
  • Questions about Leave of Absence/Back 2 UA
  • Readmission & Second Start questions
  • Extension of Incomplete Grade (if beyond one year)
  • General questions and referrals to campus resources  
  • Degree Audit Worksheets for MATH and HAS majors

Drop-in Hours and Advisors

For academic advising related to your major, please contact the advisor from the table below. Appointments with advisors are being held virtually through email, phone, and Zoom. Be sure to check your advisor's Trellis for details on availability

If you need assistance and cannot reach your Academic Advisor, please email Raini Wijeweera: raini@email.arizona.edu(link sends e-mail). Raini will respond within 24 business hours.

Contact us

Robin Rarick, Senior Director, Academic Advising

(520) 621-8128; rrarick@email.arizona.edu

Tharini Wijeweera, Assistant Director, Academic Advising

(520) 621-8128; raini@email.arizona.edu

Advisor Directory

Major Advisor Phone Office Email
Astronomy        
  David Smith (Professional Advisor)

626-1231

Phys/Atmo Sci, Room 264

dlsmith1@email.arizona.edu
  View list of Faculty Advisors      
Bioinformatics AND Biology 
AND 
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
       
Last names A-L Megan Cunnington 626-8456 Life Sci. South, Room 233 mac990@email.arizona.edu
Last names M-Z David McGuiggan 621-5329 Life Sci. South, Room 233 dmcguigg@email.arizona.edu
Chemistry & Biochemistry        
  Debra Armand-Cade 626-0605 Chemistry, Room 210 darmandcade@email.arizona.edu
  Christine Gronowski 626-7908 Chemistry, Room 210 christineg@email.arizona.edu
Computer Science        
Last names A-D Samantha Morrow 621-2594 Gould-Simpson, Room 917 sam.morrow@cs.arizona.edu
Last names E-K Alex Hernandez 621-0483 Gould-Simpson, Room 917

ahernandez@cs.arizona.edu

Last names L-Q Christina Beasley 621-3926 Gould-Simpson, Room 917 cbeasley@cs.arizona.edu
Last names R-Z Alonso Minjarez 621-4632 Gould-Simpson, Room 917 alonsom@cs.arizona.edu
Geoscience        
  Shawna Matteson 621-4845 Gould-Simpson, Room 214 smatteson@email.arizona.edu
Hydrology & Atmospheric Science        
Hydrology sub-plan Martha Whitaker 621-9715 J.W. Harshbarger, Room 226A marthaw@email.arizona.edu
Atmospheric Science sub-plan Brittany Ciancarelli 621-6619 J.W. Harshbarger, Room 224E bciance@email.arizona.edu
Mathematics/Statistics & Data Science        
MATH majors and minors only Laurie Varecka 626-9837 Mathematics, Room 217 mcenter@email.arizona.edu
MATH majors and minors only Michelle Ort 621-5106 Mathematics, Room 221 mcenter@math.arizona.edu
Molecular & Cellular Biology        
  Kara Dyson 621-1073 Life Sci. South, Room 248 kdyson@email.arizona.edu
  Justin Schneider 621-4342 Life Sci. South, Room 248 jmschnei@email.arizona.edu
Neuroscience & Cognitive Science Ayme Chaparro 621-3337 Gould-Simpson, Room 626 chaparro@email.arizona.edu
No Major Selected or Undecided in Science Tharini Wijeweera 621-8128 Gould-Simpson, Room 1017 raini@email.arizona.edu
Physics David Smith 626-1231 Phys/Atmo ScI, Room 264 dlsmith1@email.arizona.edu
Psychology AND Psychological Science        
AZ ONLINE ONLY Jamie Ellsworth     jellsworth@email.arizona.edu
Last names A-F Randy Yazzie 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 yazzier@email.arizona.edu
Last names G-M
& all Honors
Keri Bishop 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 kerib@email.arizona.edu
last names N-Z Shelley Gill 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 shelleyb@email.arizona.edu
Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences Andrea Palacio 621-6680 Speech Building, Room 224 apalacio@email.arizona.edu